Written on the 21 November 2019 by Kevin Conolly


Correctional officers across the State will pause from work next Friday 29 November to hold ceremonies for Corrective Services NSW Remembrance Day.

Parklea Correctional Centre and the Compulsory Drug Treatment Centre will be among the centres where officers, families and friends will gather to remember frontline officers who have fallen in the line of duty.

Member for Riverstone Kevin Conolly MP said the day is an opportunity for the community to reflect on the challenges faced by officers both past and present.

"This CSNSW Remembrance Day we pay tribute to the courage and dedication of our correctional officers, who work in a dangerous and difficult profession with often little public recognition," Mr Conolly said.

"We join the CSNSW family in mourning the loss of frontline officers who have paid the ultimate sacrifice and lost their lives in the line of duty."

The annual CSNSW Remembrance Day also commemorates the lives of staff who died while serving and those who passed away after retiring.

Minister for Counter Terrorism and Corrections Anthony Roberts acknowledged the devastating impact of the deaths.

"When we send our husbands, brothers, mothers or daughters to work in a prison each day, we expect them to return home safely to us," Mr Roberts said.

"We acknowledge the devastating loss suffered by the family, friends and colleagues of these men, who never came home. We will never forget them or their sacrifice."

The first officer killed on duty was Henry Kingsmill Abbott at Parramatta Gaol in 1842. Courageously standing his ground to foil an escape, he was brutally shot by prisoners.

The most recent custodial officer to lose his life in the line of duty was Wayne Harold Smith, who was attacked by an inmate at Silverwater Correctional Centre in December 2006. Tragically, he passed away on 25 January 2007 as a result of his injuries.


          Henry Kingsmill Abbott at Parramatta in 1842
          Thomas Craig at Berrima in 1862
          John Carroll at Braidwood in 1867
          George Spinks at Windsor in 1869
          John Sutherland Brown at Cootamundra in 1908
          Alan Cooper at Bathurst in 1958
          Albert Hedges at Berrima in 1959
          Cecil Mills at Emu Plains in 1959
          Willy Karl Faber at Parramatta in 1978
          John Colin Mewburn at Long Bay in 1979
          Geoffrey Pearce OAM in 1997 as a result of an attack at Long Bay
          Wayne Harold Smith in 2007 as a result of an attack at Silverwater

Author: Kevin Conolly


I am honoured to have been elected as your Parliamentary representative in my capacity as the Member for Riverstone.

As your voice in the NSW Parliament, I will fight tirelessly for the local and state issues that affect you.

Through this website, I will keep you up to date with the latest news.

I am committed to working tirelessly to deliver the infrastructure and services needed in our local area.

You can also use this website to contact me if you have any questions, concerns or views that you might like to raise with me.

Authorised by Kevin Conolly MP. Funded using Parliamentary entitlements. | Website by Hugo Halliday and Eurobyte| Powered by Eurobyte
You TubeKevin ConollyFacebookNSW Liberal Party